Home2 Forums Can I Get Your Feedback? Night and Tarts

• Night and Tarts

• Passionate Pen

May 8, 2020 at 8:44 pm

Rejected by the ami living 🙁 yet I still hope to publish one day Iyh

Night and Tarts

The daily life in the DP camp was anything but monotony. Yes, we were all doing our tasks day in day out, but we were grateful for our own beds, showers and privacy. Everyone had their chores that needed to get done so that our schedules would run smoothly. The exhilarating feeling of doing what you enjoyed most was renewed each day.

I was a chef and baker. My culinary skills were buried in a deep place within me for the past years, forgotten by the hell I endured. Now, when a cook is needed to fill the hungry masses of people that stopped by then moved on to rebuild their lives, I was dubbed with the title “Breindel the Baker”.

A look at my build, slight and petit one wouldn’t believe that I can lift barrels of stone and piles of bricks. The Nazis took care of that, making me fit to cook for a full house, all three meals, without trouble. Yet, my distinct red hair did give away my steel determination.

Our hearts and bodies were still recuperating from gehinom. If an outsider would gaze at me living life on a deserted lot making do with whatever I’ve got, they wouldn’t notice the nightmares and sudden memories that would hit me in broad daylight.

In the darkness of the night a calm serenity washes over me. I take long walks around the perimeter of the camp. The inky blue sky stretches over my head as far as the eye can see. I walk beside the fence enclosing my present home, the yellow glow of the lamps illuminate my way. I quicken my pace as my mind feverishly fights with the petrifying thoughts. I am so afraid. Afraid of day, afraid of light, scared of everything that used to be. Blocking out the noises, the voices the screams and the shouts I inhale the silence. In the pitch darkness I feel somewhat safe.

*1940- 6 years ago*